Political Journey of Movie Stars

Check out Sendy, a self hosted newsletter app that lets you send emails 100x cheaper via Amazon SES.

Some of the top Indian Film Celebrities who did a tremendous job as film stars and also walked the path of politics as leaders are Jaya Prada, Shatrughan Sinha, Jaya Bachchan, Chiranjeevi, Paresh Rawal, Shabana Azmi, Hema Malini, Kiron Kher, Raj Babbar, and Gul Panag. Stars like J Jayalalitha, Rajesh Khanna, and Vinod Khanna are often remembered for their work in the film industry as well as politics. Let’s have a look towards their political career.

Jaya Prada: Jaya Prada has given award-winning performances during her film career and worked over many regional movies. She joined TDP (Telugu Desam Party) on the invitation of N. T. Rama Rao in 1994. After two years, she was nominated for the post of Telugu Mahila President. She left TDP and joined Samajwadi Party. She was expelled from the Samajwadi party and then she created her own party with Amar Singh which didn’t last long. Later, she joined RLD on 10th March 2014 with Amar Singh where she lost the election.

Shatrughan Sinha: Shatrughan Sinha started her acting career in1969. He is one of the unconventional actors of Indian Cinema. He entered into politics by contesting election against his friend, film actor late Rajesh Khanna. Khanna won the election but this brought distance between their friendships. Shatrughan Sinha was elected then as a member of Lok Sabha from 2009 to 2014 and 2014 to 2019 and was a member in Rajya Sabha twice. He was also a Union Cabinet Minister of Health and Family Welfare from Jan 2003 to May 2004 and Shipping in Aug 2004 during Atal Bihari Vajpayee Government. As of May 2006, he was appointed as the head of the BJP Culture and Arts Department.

Jaya Bachchan: Jaya Bachchan is a versatile actress and has given super hit movies in her acting career. She entered in politics in the year 2004 in Samajwadi Party and was representing Rajya Sabha and was re-elected in the year 2012. She rarely attends any campaigns during elections, but this time she gave her contributions to the party and attended a rally with Dimple Yadav and Akhilesh Yadav, but they lost.

Shabana Azmi: Shabana Azmi is one of the finest actresses in Indian Cinema and is involved in various charitable trusts. She is a true social worker. She became the member of Rajya Sabha in 1997 and entered in politics. But she never joined any political party and continued her work for women empowerment.

Kiron Kher: Kiron Kher acted in various movies and performed on televisions in various TV shows. She is involved in non-profit movements like Laadli and Roko Cancer. She joined politics in the year 2009 in BJP. She was declared as Lok Sabha candidate from Chandigarh and won the General Elections held in 2014.

Paresh Rawal: Paresh Rawal is a great actor who makes any role very special and remarkable. He was a die-hard fan of Narendra Modi and after meeting him he thought to enter Politics in support of BJP. He was elected as MP from Gujarat in the year 2014.

Hema Malini: Hema Malini campaigned for BJP in Lok Sabha Elections in 1999 from Gurdaspur in Punjab for Vinod Khanna. From 2003 to 2009, she became the MP of the Rajya Sabha nominated by the President of India, Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam. She was made General Secretary of BJP in the year 2010. She presently is Lok Sabha MP representing Mathura assembly constituency of Uttar Pradesh in the Parliament.

Raj Babbar: Raj Babbar is an art and commercial movie actor. He entered politics by joining Janta Dal in1989 which was led by V. P. Singh. He was elected three times in Parliament of India by joining Samajwadi Party. From 1994 to 1999, he served as a member of Rajya Sabha. He was re-elected in the 14th Lok Sabha elections for the second term in 2004. After some issues, he was suspended from Samajwadi Party in 2006. Later he joined hands with the former Prime Minister of India V. P. Singh and joined the Indian National Congress. And in 2009 general elections, he defeated Samajwadi Party’s candidate and Akhilesh Yadav’s wife Dimple Yadav and became MP for the fourth time. He though lost in the 2014 general elections. In 2013, he created dispute by making remarks that in India one can have a full one time meal at just Rs.12/- for which he was severely criticized. Later, he compared Narendra Modi to Adolf Hitler, which also created controversy. Raj Babbar is the current President of the Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee.

Chiranjeevi: Chiranjeevi is a megastar. He entered into politics by forming his own party Praja Rajyam in 2008 in the state of Andhra Pradesh. In 2009 general elections he contested Tirupati and Palakollu and won the seat from Tirupati. He merged his Praja Rajyam Party with the Indian National Congress on 6th February 2011. Then he got elected as a member of Rajya Sabha on 3 April 2012.
Chiranjeevi campaigned extensively for Indian National Congress as chairman of election campaign committee for 2014 parliamentary and assembly elections in the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh. Indian National Congress was defeated in all parliamentary and state assembly seats it contested in Andhra Pradesh with several candidates losing the deposit. As he has stayed away from politics for the last two years, he was given a small post as Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) member without his consent. The rumors are doing the rounds that he will be given a key post in the Congress at the time of elections and utilize him as Star Campaigner.

Many film stars have tried their luck in Politics and became a successful politician too. But few survived and others, who couldn’ left the politics and went back to their acting field. Do share with us information about your favorite movie star who is into politics.

Please Login to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of