Virat Kohli Breaks Sachin’s Record in ODI

1 minute, 59 seconds Read

Virat Kohli – the Indian Cricket Team Captain has once again proved that he is one of the best batsmen in the world. His sportsmanship, hard work, and dedication have inspired millions of people around the world. With his powerful batting style, he has won several matches for India and won our hearts.

He has gained numerous Indian batting records including the fastest ODI century, the fastest batsman to 5,000 ODI runs and the fastest to 10 ODI centuries. He has received many awards such as ICC ODI Player of the year in 2012 and BCCI’s International Cricketer of the year for 2011-12 and 2014-15 seasons. Virat Kohli was awarded the Arjuna Award in recognition of his achievements in international cricket in the year 2013.

Virat scored his 28th hundred in one day cricket during the fifth and final ODI against West Indies at Sabina Park in Kingston. It was his 18th century in a chase, which broke Sachin Tendulkar’s record of 17 in chasing. Virat reached his 18th centuries in just 102 innings, while Sachin took 232 innings to score his 17th century. The third player in the list is Tillakaratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka, who scored 11 centuries in 116 innings while batting second.

Kohli stroked 111 runs and made India win against West Indies. After Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane lost, Kohli with Dinesh Karthik strung together and scored an unbeaten of 122 runs. India won by 8 wickets and achieved its goal of 206 runs with 79 balls left in the game.

The West Indies decided to bat and began their game carefully. They were going well till their first wicket at 76 runs. But after that, they kept losing their wickets frequently. In their spells of ten overs, Mohammed Shami picked up four wickets while Umesh Yadav knocked out three West Indies batsmen. Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami took most of the wickets While Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav and Kuldeep Yadav put a check on the run rate.

Dinesh Karthik scored his 8th ODI fifty and Virat Kohli becomes the first Indian player to score two centuries in ODI’s in West Indies. Earlier, Rahul Dravid was the only one who scored a hundred as a captain against the West Indies. For his efforts, Virat Kohli received the Man of the Match award, while Ajinkya Rahane was awarded the Man of the Series award. India’s victory has helped the Indian Cricket team seal the five-match ODI series 3-1.


Trupti Bhatt

Extremely enthusiastic about writing, reading, movies and food; though not necessarily in that order! A Feminist by choice and finds comfort in giving 'gyaan' from time to time. Would love constructive feedback on my writing as I am always looking for ways to improve!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply