Yoga and it’s principles

2 minutes, 15 seconds Read

Yoga is necessary for our body, mind and health. We have five basic types of Yoga’s as mentioned below.

Yoga and it’s principles.

Jnana Yoga

The Yoga of knowledge, using meditation for Self-realisation.This is also known as Gyana Yoga. It is based on the principles of   Vedanta ( Vedic knowkedge). In this Yogis searches only the Truth, Where they have come from, What is the goal of their birth leaving behind their Ego, their illusions of Maya and completely merged with God the Creator.

Bhakti Yoga

The Yoga of Devotion, seeking union with God as the Divine Father or Divine Mother. It is the path concentrating one’s mind, emotions, and senses on the divine. In its purest form, bhakti burns like a devotional fire in heart. And an early example of Bhakti yogi comes from 12th century Named Akka Mahadevi devoted herself to Shiva and in past Meerabai devoted her life to Krishna.

Karma Yoga

The Yoga of services, emphasizing ritual worship of the Divine and services to living beings. It is the Yoga of action. It purifies the heart by teaching you to act selflessly without expecting any reward in return. In Bhagavad Gita, it is described that “ Karma Yoga is the selfless devotion of all inner as well as the outer activities as a sacrifices to Lord of all works, offered to the eternal as Master of all soul’s energies and austerities’.

Raja Yoga

The Royal Yoga of higher techniques and methods, mainly of mantra and meditation.

“Raja Yoga is a science, art and path in life to enhance, Enrich and strengthen our spiritual focus”
– Walt Baptiste


It is at the point that we direct our attention inwardly, toward our true nature, which is Divine. This can be done by its eight fold path:

  • Yamas- Ahimsa, Satya, Brahmacharya, Apragraha(non greedy)
  • Niyamas-Susha(purity), Santosha, Tapas, Svadhyay, Ishvara Paridhana
  • Asana- Steady pose, posture or seat
  • Pranayama-Contol of vital enery to breathwork
  • Pratyahar-Withdrawal of senses
  • Dharana- Concentration of mind
  • Dhyana-Meditation
  • Samadhi- Enlightenment, union with the Divine

Hatha Yoga

The Yoga of Effort of lower techniques and methods, mainly asana and pranayama.In this Yoga to attain the unity within you , You have to work with your body, then you move to the breath, then to mind, then to innerself. Hatha Yoga is a way of disciplining, purifying and preparing the body for higher levels of energy and possibilities.

The body becomes a means of spiritual growth or it can become a major barrier. Excercising with different parts of the body means “Yogasanas”.

Practicing Yogasana help to get rid of many problems like back pain, muscles contraction, improve blood circulation, flexible body…


Trupti Bhatt

Extremely enthusiastic about writing, reading, movies and food; though not necessarily in that order! A Feminist by choice and finds comfort in giving 'gyaan' from time to time. Would love constructive feedback on my writing as I am always looking for ways to improve!

Similar Posts